Flow measurement

Flow measurement

Differential pressure flowmeter

Differential pressure flow meters are the only standardized flow meters.
Their calibration is thus superfluous and their accuracy guaranteed according to the standards in force (ISO 5167, ISO / TR 15377, ASME-MFC 3M ...). They have the advantage of being reliable, economical and robust. They can be used for all types of fluids in liquid, gas and vapor form.

The principle of the differential pressure flow measurement is to insert in a circular pipe a restriction which generates a pressure difference between the upstream and the downstream of this restriction.

The measurement of this pressure difference (called ΔP) is transformed by a differential pressure sensor into a 4-20 mA signal and then translated into a flow rate according to the law:

Q being the flow

K a constant that takes into account the fluid parameters, the viscosity, the roughness of the pipework, the density of the fluid, etc.

Δp the differential pressure (upstream pressure - downstream pressure).

This table is a tool to help select the primary element of flow measurement. Depending on the type and characteristics of the medium to be measured, you can get a first idea of ​​the specific flowmeter for your application.
Attention, as any first approach, it is imperative to validate the choice by a calculation made by our specialized design office.
For the calculation, we need information about your process.

You can find here a selection of applications for flow measurement products.

Please see below our most frequently asked questions / answers.

If you do not find the answer you are looking for, please contact us either by phone at +33 (0)5.59.30.85.20 or via the contact form. We will respond as soon as possible.

Why is differential pressure flow measurement the most used in the industry?

Differential pressure flow meters are the oldest flow meters. The first scientific studies date from the beginning of the 17th century. In industry, the first standardized devices such as orifice plates appeared at the beginning of the twentieth century in the oil industry in the United States. Since then, this type of measurement has evolved considerably: other devices such as venturis, nozzles, pitot tubes, cones meters, wedge meters have been developed and offer a wide range to suit all industrial applications. All devices are standardized (the latest, the wedge flowmeter integrated in the ISO5167 standard in February 2019). On one hand, they offer a guarantee of precision in compliance with the calculation and installation criteria defined in the standard. On the other hand, they are economical devices to purchase and maintain and are very robust.

Flow measurement: why is it important to use a standardized technology?

Standardized technology means that these flow measuring devices are designed and manufactured according to the standards in force (ISO 5167, ISO / TR 15377, ASME-MFC 3M ...). Thus, accuracy is guaranteed (provided that the installation of the device in the measuring section also complies with the standard) and no calibration of the device is necessary neither for the commissionning nor during the entire service life of the device. You will find, in the page of each product, the current standards and the corresponding characteristics.

How to choose the most suitable flow measurement for my application?

We have defined a selection table that will allow you to choose according to the characteristics of your application. To consult it, please refer to the Selection tab on this page.

What accessories are required for differential pressure flow measurement?

The flow measurement primary elements (orifice plate, venturi ...) are generally to be mounted between flanges with seals (or to be welded). Depending on your installation, tubing will be required for the pressure taps, isolation valves, manifold and differential pressure transmitter. For steam applications, condensation pots are also required before the transmitter. Here you will find more detailed information about the accessories.

Why do you use an annular chamber (pressure taps in the corners)?

The annular chamber has several advantages. First, it offers the possibility to change only the plate in case of maintenance or change of process compared to a monoblock where the complete system must be changed. Moreover, it allows the circulation of the fluid over the complete circumference of the pipework and thus offers a more stable and more precise averaged pressure. This type of mounting is particularly recommended for pipe diameters smaller than DN50.

What tests and controls can be performed on a differential pressure flow measuring element (mechanical element)?

Non Destructive Testing (NDT) checks the integrity and health of a material or part without damaging it. They are used to highlight surface defects such as cracks, holes, pits ... or internal defects such as porosities, blisters, inclusions, non-emergent cracks, thickness variations due to wear or tear, corrosion ... Complementary controls also allow to check the chemical nature of the materials used and the mechanical strength of the parts.

The main control techniques used are:

  • Visual inspection (or Visual Testing - VT)
  • Penetrant Testing (PT)
  • Radiography (or Radiographic Testing - RT)
  • Ultrasonic testing (UT)
  • Leak Tightness Testing (LT)
  • PMI / Ferrite rate
  • Hydraulic test

100% of the parts manufactured by Deltafluid go through a dimensional inspection. Depending on the product to be tested, we can also use a roughness meter, a profilometer to check all of its technical data.

Finally, for specific applications, we can:

  • have our equipment calibrated in an approved laboratory (COFRAC, ISO 17025 ...)
  • authorize customer inspections or independent third-party inspections

To know more, visit our NDT page.

What is the rangeability of a differential pressure flow meter?

The rangeability also called turndown ratio corresponds to the measurement range between the maximum flow and the minimum flow rate in which the measurement will be performed while maintaining a very high level of precision.
The turn down ratio of the flow measurement by means of a pressure differential element is around 1:6, which means that the flow measurement is carried out accurately from 16 to 100% of the max flow rate. However, it is possible to propose an extended rangeability of up to 1:36 corresponding to a measurement of 3 to 100% of the maximum flow with good accuracy. The solution is to place two pressure transmitters in parallel so that each one can take care of a part of the measuring range.
Please contact us for more details on this application.

Mesure de débit

Mesure de débit

Débitmètre à pression différentielle

Les appareils de mesure de débit par pression différentielle sont les seuls débitmètres normalisés
Leur étalonnage est ainsi superflu et leur précision garantie selon les normes en vigueur (ISO 5167, ISO/TR 15377, ASME-MFC 3M...). Ils présentent l’avantage d’être fiables, économiques et robustes. Ils peuvent être utilisés pour tous types de fluides sous forme liquide, gaz et vapeur.

Le principe de la mesure de débit par pression différentielle consiste à insérer dans une conduite circulaire une restriction (appelée élément déprimogène) générant une différence de pression entre l'amont et l'aval de cette restriction.

La mesure de cette différence de pression (appelée ΔP) est transformée par un capteur de pression différentielle en un signal 4-20 mA puis traduite en un débit conforme à la loi:

Q étant le débit

K une constante qui prend en compte les paramètres du fluide, la viscosité, la rugosité de la tuyauterie, la densité du fluide, etc.

Δp la pression différentielle (pression amont - pression aval).

Ce tableau est un outil d'aide à la sélection de l'élément primaire de mesure de débit. En fonction notamment du type et des caractéristiques du fluide à mesurer, vous pouvez avoir une première idée de l'organe déprimogène adapté à votre application. 
Attention, comme toute première approche, il est impératif de valider le choix par un calcul réalisé par notre bureau d'études spécialisé.
Pour le calcul, nous avons besoin de renseignements sur votre process.

Vous trouverez ici une sélection des applications pour les produits de mesure de débit.

Veuillez consulter ci-dessous nos questions / réponses les plus fréquentes.

Si vous ne trouvez pas la réponse que vous cherchez, merci de nous contacter soit par téléphone au 05.59.30.85.20 ou via le formulaire de contact. Nous vous répondrons dans les meilleurs délais.

Pourquoi la mesure de débit par pression différentielle est-elle la plus utilisée dans l’industrie?

Les débitmètres à pression différentielle sont les plus anciens appareils de mesure de débit. Les premières études scientifiques datent du début du XVIIè siècle. Dans l’industrie, les premiers dispositifs standardisés tels que les plaques à orifice apparurent au début du XXè siècle dans l’industrie du pétrole aux Etats-Unis. Depuis, ce type de mesure a beaucoup évolué : d’autres appareils tels que venturis, tuyères, tubes de pitot, cônes de mesure, débitmètres à coin ont été développés et offrent une large gamme permettant de répondre à toutes les applications industrielles. Tous les appareils sont normalisés (dernier en date, le débitmètre à coin intégré dans la norme ISO5167 en février 2019); ils offrent ainsi une garantie de précision dans le respect des critères de calcul et d’installation définis dans la norme. D’autre part, ce sont des appareils économiques à l’achat et à l’entretien et très robustes.

Mesure de débit : pourquoi est-il important d’utiliser une technologie normalisée?

Technologie normalisée signifie que ces appareils de mesure de débit sont conçus et fabriqués selon les normes en vigueur (ISO 5167, ISO/TR 15377, ASME-MFC 3M...). Ainsi, la précision est garantie (étant entendu que l'installation de l'appareil dans la section de mesure respecte également la norme) et aucun étalonnage de l'appareil n'est nécessaire lors de l'achat ni durant toute la durée de vie de l'appareil. Vous trouverez, dans la page de chaque produit, la ou les normes en vigueur et les caractéristiques correspondantes. 

Comment choisir la mesure de débit la plus adaptée à mon application ?

Nous avons établi un tableau de sélection qui vous permettra de choisir en fonction des caractéristiques de votre application. Pour le consulter, consultez l'onglet Sélection de cette page.

Quels sont les accessoires à prévoir pour une mesure de débit par pression différentielle?

Les éléments primaires de mesure de débit (plaque à orifice, venturi...) sont à général à monter entre brides avec joints (ou à souder). En fonction de votre installation, il faudra prévoir le tubing pour les prises de pression, les vannes d'isolement, le manifold et le transmetteur de pression différentielle. Pour les applications vapeur, des pots de condensation sont également nécessaires avant le transmetteur. Vous trouverez ici des informations plus précises sur les accessoires.

Pourquoi utilise t’on une chambre annulaire (prise de pression dans les angles)?

La chambre annulaire présente plusieurs avantages. Tout d’abord, elle offre la possibilité de changer uniquement la plaque en cas de maintenance ou de changement de process par rapport à un monobloc où le système complet doit être changé. Par ailleurs, elle favorise la circulation du fluide sur la circonférence complète de la tuyauterie et offre donc une pression moyennée plus stable et plus précise. Ce type de montage est particulièrement recommandé pour des tuyauteries de diamètres inférieurs au DN50.

Quels sont les tests et contrôles qui peuvent être effectués sur un élément de mesure de débit par pression différentielle (élément mécanique) ?

Les Contrôles Non Destructifs ou CND permettent de vérifier l'intégrité et la santé d'un matériau ou d'une pièce sans la détériorer. Ils servent à mettre en évidence des défauts de surface comme des criques, trous, fissures, piqûres... ou des défauts internes comme des porosités, soufflures, inclusions, fissurations non débouchantes, variations d'épaisseur due à l'usure ou à la corrosion... Des contrôles complémentaires permettent aussi de vérifier la nature chimique des matériaux utilisés et la tenue mécanique des pièces. 
Les principales techniques de contrôle utilisées sont :

  • le contrôle visuel (ou Visual Testing - VT)
  • le ressuage (ou Penetrant Testing - PT)
  • la radiographie (ou Radiographic Testing - RT)
  • le contrôle par ultrasons (ou Ultrasonic Testing - UT)
  • l'étanchéité (ou Leak Tightness Testing - LT)
  • PMI / taux de ferrite
  • Epreuve hydraulique

100% des pièces fabriquées par Deltafluid passent un contrôle dimensionnel. Selon le produit à contrôler, nous pouvons également utiliser un rugosimètre, un profilomètre pour vérifier l'ensemble de ses données techniques.

Enfin, pour des applications spécifiques, nous pouvons :

  • faire étalonner nos appareils dans un laboratoire agréé (COFRAC, ISO 17025...)
  • autoriser les inspections clients ou inspections par tierce partie indépendante

Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre page dédiée.

Quelle est la rangeabilité d'une mesure de débit par organe déprimogène?

La rangeabilité également appelée dynamique de mesure ou turndown ratio en anglais correspond à la plage de mesure entre le débit max et le débit min dans laquelle la mesure sera effectuée en gardant un très bon niveau de précision.
La rangeabilité de la mesure de débit par organe déprimogène se situe autour de 1:6, ce qui signifie que la mesure de débit est réalisée avec précision de 16 à 100% du débit max. Il est cependant tout à fait possible de proposer une rangeabilité étendue allant jusqu'à 1:36 correspondant à une mesure de 3 à 100% du débit max avec une bonne précision. La solution consiste à placer deux transmetteurs de pression en parallèle pour que chacun prenne en charge de façon précise une partie de l'étendue de mesure.
Veuillez nous contacter pour plus de détails sur cette application.